Jaguar F-Pace Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a very low mileage driver and the maintenance schedule calls for a once a year oil and filter change for my mileage.

Notwithstanding the maintenance schedule, I want to change my oil and filter every six months. I just don't reset the maintenance schedule on the computer at the 6 month interval as it is not scheduled maintenance. Followed the same schedule with my previous two Bimmers.

Most technicians will tell you that changing oil more frequently than the maintenance schedule call for, if you are a short distance, stop and go driver with low mileage is the best medicine you can give your vehicle.

I am coming up to the six month mark soon and I have purchased aftermarket oil filters on EBay for about 1/3 of the OEM filter. I now have a supply for a few years.

My question is what are the suggestions for oil, make, type and viscosity other than the Jaguar oil available at the dealer.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Also having the same inquiry~ I feel it will be fine to change oil and filter whenever the onboard computer tells you to, I thought it's free to let the dealership handle the oil and filter change?

When you say: "Most technicians will tell you that changing oil more frequently than the maintenance schedule call for, if you are a short distance, stop and go driver with low mileage is the best medicine you can give your vehicle." Do you mind to elaborate? I don't seem to understand what you mean by "with low mileage is the best medicine."

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
I am a very low mileage driver and the maintenance schedule calls for a once a year oil and filter change for my mileage.

Notwithstanding the maintenance schedule, I want to change my oil and filter every six months. I just don't reset the maintenance schedule on the computer at the 6 month interval as it is not scheduled maintenance. Followed the same schedule with my previous two Bimmers.