Jaguar F-Pace Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Driving my 2018 F Pace 35T, got hit by a car which was traveling at least 50 mph. He it the corner of the front passenger side and smashed entire front. Airbags did not deploy and I hit my head on the steering wheel, bruised up my left shoulder and knee. Shouldnt the airbags have deployed?

Attachments

·
Registered
22 Posts
I’m no expert, but I’ve had two other vehicles which had way way less damage than that and the airbags deployed.

·
Registered
2,515 Posts
Speaking of someone from experience with my 2019 SVR, my Driver side Airbag did deploy in my accident but it was a direct front blow. I was probably doing about 50 with the impact. I think the difference is that it was a direct front blow (picture below) on the front of the car, especially the front bash bar (which sits behind the bumper cover). The car was totalled and very damaged as you'll see from the picture, but the passenger side airbag did not deploy because no one was sitting there. I think in your case, because the car came from the side and the impact was more lateral, that could be a reason why the airbag didn't deploy on the driver side. The others probably shouldn't have depoyed either, unless you had a passenger sitting in the front, other than maybe the side curtain air bags. In your pics, while the front bumper cover is gone, the bash bar which sits behind the front bumper cover does have damage but it looks more pulled away from the car then pushed in and that could be the reason the airbag didn't deploy. If you are concerned though you could report it to Jaguar and I'm sure they'll look into it. They can't afford airbags failing

Wheel Tire Vehicle Automotive lighting Hood

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you!